News‎ > ‎

2016 UK Class Champion - Phil Holiday

posted 17 Nov 2016, 14:44 by RG NCA   [ updated 17 Nov 2016, 14:50 ]
 Phil receiving his trophy

After travelling back from the Marblehead Worlds to make last round of the 2016 Travellers series at Bournville in October, Phil Holiday from Datchet Water MYC was crowned 2016 Class Champion.

Over the 8 scoring events of the series 69 skippers took part, ranging from national champions to 1st time competitors. In the end though it was consistency that paid off, with two of the top three places taking two discards out of a possible three. It was looking like a straight fight between Phil Holiday and Noel Donaldson but Mark Dicks showed good form at Bournville to end up splitting the two. The winner of the 2016 Nationals, John Tushingham, despite scoring well in the events he entered, didn't score enough to get better than 5th overall.

The top ten is below with the full table here

PositionNameSail NoClubOverall Points12345
1Phil Holiday66Datchet Water4299087858582
2Mark Dicks6Clapham4169288847676
3Noel Donaldson29Watermead3978584827769
4Nigel Brown55Gosport3908881787866
5John Tushingham51Keighley370949393890
6Wayne Stobbs58Portsmouth2667063544138
7Ken Binks83Eastbourne25492828000
8Garry Box103Manor Park2346155444035
9Mike Parkington697Fleetwood209595453430
10Roy Stevens54Tri-Services19779724250

A big thank you to all involved, both sailing and behind the scenes, in 2016 and here's looking forward to a strong series in 2017, including the 2017 National Championships in Birkenhead.

The dates for the 2017 season and links to the reports from 2016 can be found on the Calender tab.