2016 RG65 National Championships, 4/5th June, Eastbourne & District MYC
For 2016 the UK RG65 National Championships moves to Eastbourne and District Model Yacht Club at Princes Park in Eastbourne East Sussex. More detail about the club and it's location is available on their website. http://edmyc.org.uk/


There was an exciting first day’s racing at Eastbourne in light and shifty conditions. Results were close at the top with many different skippers having achieved first place in a fleet over the course of the day.

On the second day the wind started off a nice top suit down the lake then the wind went funny coming from all directions. After moving to the other side of the lake racing commenced with a lot of shifts on the course. Heading across the lake from the bank to the windward mark proved interesting.

Our friends from mainland Europe came along and did extremely well and a good time was had by all. The Lord Mayor of Eastbourne was on hand to presented the prizes and of course John Tushington is the 2016 UK National Champion.

The top ten was
Peter Vulperhorst 1st
John Tushingham 2nd
Toby Laux 3rd
Mark Dicks 4th
Antoine Froment 5th
Yannick Kohler 6th
Ken Binks 7th
Noel Donaldson 8th
Jean Christophe Bories 9th
Phil Holliday 10th

Thanks to all at Eastbourne and District MYC for giving up their time to host the event.

Peter Vulperhorst of the Netherlands came out top of the 2016 RG65 National Championships.

John Tushingham came in in second place to claim 2016 UK National Champion.

For more of Sue Browns excellent photos go to Flickr

Link to the report for last year's event - Here.


Click to enlarge

Notice of Race

The NOR has been posted online at the MYA website  http://mya-uk.co.uk/event/ms-mya-national-rg65/ and is also available here

Entry Form and Entries List

The entry form and current list of entries is available here.


Eastbourne and District Model Yacht Club, Winchelsea Road, Eastbourne, East Sussex BN22 7PR.

Full directions can be found on the club website.


Princes Park